Your location
No Location

Personalize your experience

For the best experience, please update your location.

Update
Selected State
Select State
CA
Arizona
California
Florida
Illinois
Nevada
New York
Selected Store  (Store Details)
Store
Select Store
See Selected Store Details
Store Name
View All Stores
A Journal of Cannabis and Culture

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card: A State-by-State Guide

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card: A State-by-State Guide

The following procedures apply to adults applying for cards in their home states. All applications require proof of identity and other supporting documents; see your state’s application for details. Some states require a criminal background check. Many states also offer programs for minors and out-of-state applicants, but procedures vary. Consult your state’s official guidance. The fees listed are state processing fees; visiting a certifying doctor will incur extra fees, not listed here. Some states offer reduced application fees in cases of financial hardship or for veterans and other populations; check your state’s official guidance for details. You will need a “bona fide” relationship with a physician. This may mean that you’ll have to see the physician several times over a specified period in order to qualify. Details are listed in state application procedures. Note that no doctor is ever required to approve you for medical marijuana, even if they’re authorized to issue marijuana recommendations.

Guide On How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card

ARIZONA
Check the Arizona Department of Health Services forqualifying conditions. Visit a licensed physician—MD, doctor of osteopathy (DO), homeopath, or naturopath—for official certification; doctors do not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. File application and certification online. $150 fee.

ARKANSAS
Check the Arkansas Department of Health for qualifying conditions and to download an application or apply online. For written certification, visit a licensed MD or DO with a controlled substances license from the DEA. Mail your certification, completed application, and $50 fee to the Arkansas Department of Health.

CONNECTICUT
Check Connecticut’s state website for qualifying conditions. Visit a licensed MD for official certification; the MD does not have to be registered with a state marijuana program. The physician will register you with Connecticut’s medical marijuana program, giving the department your email address and phone number. When contacted, you will supply identifying information and pay the $100 fee.

DELAWARE
Check the Delaware Division of Public Health website for qualifying conditions. Visit an MD or DO for official certification; the physician does not have to be registered with a state marijuana program. File certification and identifying documents by submitting online or by downloading and printing an application and mailing to the Delaware Division of Public Health, at the address on the form. $125 fee.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Check p. 118 of themunicipal regulationsfor qualifying conditions. Visit a physician approved by DC Health to recommend medical marijuana. Submit certification and application online or by mailing to DC Health Headquarters. $100 fee.

FLORIDA
Check the Florida statute for qualifying conditions and the Office of Medical Marijuana Use for state-approved physicians. Visit a physician; if they recommend marijuana for you, they will register you on the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry and give you a patient ID number, which you will use to apply for an ID card online. $75 fee.

HAWAII
Check Hawaii’s Department of Health website for qualifying conditions. For written certification, visit a physician or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) licensed to prescribe controlled substances. Create an online account with the medical marijuana program, then follow the steps to file your application and certification online. $38.50 fee.

ILLINOIS
Check the Illinois Department of Public Health site for qualifying conditions. Visit a physician for certification; the physician does not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. If the physician recommends marijuana for you, they will send written certification to the Illinois Department of Public Health. Next, complete a paper application and mail in, or register online. $100 fee.

LOUISIANA
Check the Louisiana Department of Health site forqualifying conditionsanddoctors authorized to prescribe cannabis. To qualify, visit an authorized doctor to discuss your condition; on recommendation, they will enter you in the state registry. This qualifies you to buy at an authorized pharmacy; no card is needed. Note: as of this writing, there are no authorized pharmacies, with the first scheduled to open in May 2019.

MARYLAND
Visit Maryland’s Medical Marijuana Commission site forqualifying conditionsand toregister as a patient. When you have your ID number, visit aregistered health provider. If the physician issues you a medical marijuana recommendation, they will file your certification online, and you’ll receive your ID card. $50 fee.

MICHIGAN
Check the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs for qualifying conditions. Visit any licensed MD or DO for certification. Paper applications: download a form and mail, with physician recommendation, to the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program. Online applications: your certifying doctor will need to be registered with the marijuana program, and will receive an email asking for approval once you’ve completed the form. For paper and online applications: $60 fee.

MINNESOTA
Check the Minnesota Department of Health site for qualifying conditions. Visit an MD, DO, APRN, or physician’s assistant (PA) for certification; they do not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. If the doctor recommends you for medical marijuana, they will register you on the state’s online registry. The Department of Health will email you application instructions. If approved, you must visit a cannabis patient center and consult with a pharmacist before buying cannabis. Note that medical marijuana users in Minnesota are not allowed to smoke flower. $200 application fee.

MISSOURI
Applications open July 4, 2019. Check the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services for qualifying conditions. Visit a physician for certification; the physician does not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. Apply for an ID card, applications will open on June 4; fee details were not available at time of writing.

MONTANA
Check the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services to download a physician certification form, which lists qualifying conditions. Visit an MD or DO to complete the form; the physician does not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. File application online, including physician statement. $30 fee.

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Check the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) site for qualifying conditions. Visit a physician or APRN for certification; they do not need to be registered with a state marijuana program. Fill out an application from DHHS and mail to the address on form with your medical certification. $50 fee.

NEW JERSEY
Check the New Jersey Department of Health site for qualifying conditions. Visit a doctor in the medical marijuana program for certification. On approval, they will enter you in a registry. Use the resulting ID number to complete your application online. $100 fee.

NEW MEXICO
Go to the New Mexico Department of Health site for an application, which lists qualifying conditions. Visit a medical practitioner with prescribing authority; they do not have to be registered with a state marijuana program. Complete an application and mail to the address on the application, with your medical certification. No fee.

NEW YORK
Check the New York State Department of Health site for qualifying conditions. Visit a physician registered with the state’s marijuana program for written certification. Apply online, submitting supporting documents and the $50 fee.

NORTH DAKOTA
Check the North Dakota Department of Health site for qualifying conditions. Visit an MD, DO, or APRN for a written certification; medical professionals do not need to be registered in a state program. Apply online, submitting your written certification. $50 fee.

OHIO
Check the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program site for qualifying conditions. Visit a physician with an active, state-licensed Certificate to Recommend. If you are approved, the physician will enter you in the patient registry, and you will receive an email. Log in and complete the application. $50 fee.

OKLAHOMA
Download a physician certification form from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority site. Visit an MD or DO for written certification; the physician does not need to be registered in a state marijuana program. There is no list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana; approvals are at the doctor’s discretion. Submit the form, certification, and $100 fee online.

PENNSYLVANIA
Check the Pennsylvania Department of Health site for qualifying conditions and to create a profile in the registry. Visit a physician approved to recommend marijuana; upon recommendation, they can certify you directly in the registry. Complete your application online. $50 fee.

RHODE ISLAND
Check the Rhode Island Department of Health site for qualifying conditions and a physician form. Visit a physician for written certification; physicians do not need to be registered in a state marijuana program. Download an application and send, with physician certification, to the address on the form. $50 fee.

UTAH
Utah lawmakers passed a medical marijuana bill in late 2018. There are currently no legally authorized cannabis dispensaries in the state. The process for obtaining a medical marijuana card is due to be in place by March 2020. Check the Utah Department of Health site for updates and qualifying conditions.

VIRGINIA
Visit a doctor registered with the Board of Pharmacy for certification. There’s no state-issued list of qualifying conditions; approval is at physicians’ discretion. Apply online through the Department of Health Professions, submitting your physician approval. $50 fee.

WEST VIRGINIA
West Virginia passed its Medical Cannabis Act in April 2017, but the program is still in early development, and the process for obtaining a medical marijuana card isn’t yet established. Check the Department of Health and Human Resources’ medical marijuana site for updates and qualifying conditions.

A Journal of Cannabis and Culture
Share this page with your family and friends!